The Future Is Unwritten

Thoughts on EthCC [5] in Paris

Ivan Hong
6 min readJul 23, 2022

I could feel my heart racing a little as I approached the co-working space, nestled in a quaint building next to the modern art Center Pompidou. My mind a strange cocktail of equal parts familiarity and incredulity.

Having worked for over a year in a remote-first organization, this was the first time I would meet my entire team outside of grainy video calls, ever since the pandemic plunged the world into isolation.

I turned the corner to find the entrance, only to come face to face with a giant mural. Living in a city where street art is rare, I found my feet taking me past my destination, drawing me to stand in awe of its grandiose scale and vivid blue hues.

The Future Is Unwritten

Flanked by a pair of robed figures, each standing atop a pedestal of stacked tomes, lay a large open book, proclaiming in bold letters: “The Future Is Unwritten”.

As I prepare to head home, I find myself coming full circle from where I began just ten days ago. I can scarcely find a more fitting summary of my time at the Ethereum Community Conference. Here’s why.

The Future of Work

--

--